With Alabama’s Mark Ingram winning the school’s first Heisman Trophy on Saturday, now is a good time to review some Heisman trivia.

  • Seven quarterbacks who played college ball in the state of Florida have won the Heisman. From the University of Florida – Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel and Tim Tebow. From Florida State – Charlie Ward and Chris Weinke. From Miami – Vinny Testaverde and Gino Torretta.
  • Jay Berwanger of University of Chicago won the first Heisman in 1935.
  • Notre Dame, Ohio State and the University of Souther California lead all schools in the number of Heisman winners, with 7 apiece.
  • Archie Griffin of Ohio State is the only two-time Heisman winner.
  • Tim Tebow of Florida is the first sophomore to win the award.
  • Yale has 2 Heisman winners, Larry Kelley in 1936 and Mike O’Connor in 1937.